This award is given in appreciation of a career devoted to research and teaching of the science and practice of Neuroanaesthesia or Neurocritical Care or outstanding service to the Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society.

Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Year Awardee



Prof Martin Smith, London

“It is an honour to be the first recipient of the NACCS Lifetime Achievement Award. In accepting the award, I recognise and thank the clinical and research teams I have worked with during the last 30 years; it has been a privilege to interact with so many talented colleagues. I am grateful to you all and to the Society that represents our interests. Thank you. “



Prof David Menon, Cambridge

“I am delighted that NACCS has selected me for the 2021/22 Lifetime Achievement Award:  There is no greater honour than having the approval of your peers, and I am very grateful NACCS for this. I am also very aware that I represent a number of clinical and scientific colleagues who have contributed to the body of work that has led to this award, and this is also a recognition of their efforts, and a chance for me to say thank you to all of them. ” 

LAA criteria:

  • Nominee should be a UK based clinician or investigator in Neuroanaesthesia or Neurocritical Care for at least 20 years.
  • Nominee does not have to be a current Full Member of the Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society (NACCS).
  • Nominee should be recognised for making outstanding contributions to the science or practice of Neuroanaesthesia or Neurocritical Care Medicine.
  • Nominee who has shown outstanding Council participation or leadership advancing the Societies objectives will be considered.
  • Nominee should be recognised by his/her peers as an outstanding clinician and/or researcher, teacher, and mentor.
  • There will be a maximum of one Lifetime Achievement Award allocated per annum.

Application Process:

  • Nominees must be proposed by at least three current Full Members of the Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society.
  • For each nominee a maximum of one current Council Member is allowed to act as proposer.
  • All nominations must be submitted using the application form and submitted to the Honorary Secretary of the Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society.
  • The closing date for nominations is the start of the Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM).
  • All nominations will be reviewed by the NACCS Executive and submitted for review at the Council Meeting following the ASM.
  • The Executive has the right to seek further information from the applicant before a decision is made.
  • The Executive has the right to defer a decision if not all criteria are met.
  • Successful nominees will be informed of decision in good time to receive award.
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards will be awarded at the ASM.

Neuroanaesthesia and Critical Care Society Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Form